Trash or Treasure Blogs

A review of different ideas, including crafts and recipes, from bloggers all over.

Remember the story about the old widow’s flour…He’s blessing me with onions!! December 13, 2011

Filed under: December — trashortreasureblogs @ 7:23 pm

Pinterest or this other blog has now officially saved me 79 cents! That’s right! Every time I go to the store (or almost every time) I purchase a bundle of green onions. Especially this time of year. They go great with chili and stews!! I read on

http://lunchinabox.net/2008/02/03/freeze-green-onions-in-plastic-drink-bottles/

that if you put the bulb of the onions in some water they will grow back again and again in your very own kitchen!!! Not outside, not in a pot near the window, but in the kitchen! I had to try this and I’m amazed. They grow about an inch a day. Mine have been growing in about a three inch vase; however, I believe I’ll transport them to a water bottle soon. This idea is a treasure!!

Freezing chopped green onions in plastic drink bottles

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.